Guin Saga

Quick & Dirty

Language: Japanese

Initial Interest: Medium

Favorite Character: Rinda

Opinion: Good

Synopsis

The ancient kingdom of Parro has been invaded by the armies of Mongaul, and its king and queen have been slain. But the “twin pearls of Parro,” the princess Rinda and the prince Remus, escape using a strange device hidden in the palace. Lost in the Forest of Rood, they are rescued from Mongaul soldiers by a strange leopard-headed man named Guin, who has no memories except for the word “Aurra.”

(Source: AnimeNewsNetwork)

Pre-Viewing Thoughts

If you’ve been reading this blog regularly you may have noticed that I use AnimeNewsNetwork as my primary resource. It’s a good site and it has only really failed me once or twice. But a side effect of visiting that site so often is that I get subjected to their advertisements. That’s what got me to watch Blassreiter and it’s what introduced me to Guin Saga. I can’t really say why but it caught my attention and now I’m curious. We’ll see how this goes.

Favorite Character

This was not a decision reached lightly. I actually like most of the cast so far on this one. Guin is a good and noble knight and I found Istvan to be interesting in his own right but I had to pick Rinda. When it comes down to it Rinda is powerless. She is at best like 13 years old, her kingdom has been conquered, and her only weapon is a dagger. Yet she still faces every situation and every foe with unfaltering bravery and force of will. It is an unbelievably rare characteristic for a female in anime and it makes me happy.

Overall Opinion

What they did well: The characters are generally good and very diverse. They do a good job of building interest in character background. I’m very anxious to see what the deal is with Guin and I’d like to learn a little more about Istvan as well. I like the animations style and I personally thing that the design for leopard-headed Guin was skillfully pulled off. The action sequences were also very nice, especially after the last two reviews. There were a few fights that happened too quickly to really follow or where the camera was otherwise engaged so that we couldn’t see a lot of what happened, but there was plenty of fighting where everything was clear and entertaining to watch.

What they didn’t do well: The opening theme may be the most boring opening theme I have ever seen. It’s all heroic background music and a montage of characters, really no fun at all. Remus seems to serve no purpose other than to cry about how scare/tired/hungry he is and it gets kind of annoying pretty quick. You’d think a child whose entire family was just murdered and who was fleeing for his life would have other things on his mind, but not this kid. Also, at five episodes I’m not sure what the point of Suni is. I guess they’ll end up going to her village at some point and maybe that’s more relevant than a safe harbor in a dangerous region, but until then she seems just to be there as the cute pet, and I just don’t like cute pets for the sake of cute pets.

Next Official Review: Wandering Son aka Hourou Musuko

11 Comments

Filed under Anime, Weekly Reviews

11 responses to “Guin Saga

  1. Bakagaijin_Izzy

    Guin’s design from the waist down scares me… too much David Bowie a la Labrynth. So, my suggestion this week is “kore wa zombie desu ka?” I’ll admit, it caught my eye while I was tracking down Zombieland on Netflix (at your suggestion I might add) so there ^_^

    • Yeah, I didn’t mean his outfit and such impressed me. I meant that pasting a leopard head onto a human body could be done quite poorly and I feel like they did it really well.

  2. Great Post. I add this Blog to my bookmarks.

  3. And I have faced it. Let’s discuss this question. Here or in PM.

  4. I apologise, but, in my opinion, you are not right. Let’s discuss. Write to me in PM, we will talk.

    • No need for an apology, I’m aware that my opinion is far from the only one in the universe. So long as we can have a reasonable discussion I’d honestly rather just discuss whatever it is you disagree with here in the comments, especially since I’m not entirely sure how to PM you outside of e-mailing you directly. What is it exactly that I’ve said here that you would like to discuss?

  5. I perhaps shall simply keep silent

  6. Conser

    Actually Rinda’s 14 years old according to the wiki article.

Leave a Reply

