Siayuki

Quick & Dirty

Language: Japanese

Initial Interest: Mild

Favorite Character: Undecided…Kougaiji

Opinion: Neutral

Synopsis

Many years ago, humans and demons lived in harmony. But that unity ended when demons started attacking humans and plotted a mission to unleash Gyumao – an evil demon imprisoned for thousands of years. Now, Genjo Sanzo, a rogue priest, must team up with three demons – Sha Gojyo, Son Goku, and Cho Hakkai – and embark on a perilous journey to the west to stop these demons from resurrecting Gyumao and restore the balance between humans and demons on Earth.

(Source: AnimeNewsNetwork)

Pre-Viewing Thoughts

This is another series that I watched without regard for this review, so these are the pre-viewing thoughts as written after watching.

Kaze wanted this series so we bought it at some point and when we were watching anime every Friday with my mom (who is awesome) we started this one, but we didn’t finish it and I honestly didn’t remember anything about it. This series was well beloved by about half of my anime club in high school but I never got into it both because no one loaned it to me and because I didn’t care. But at least one of the people who liked it was Izzy and she and I tend to enjoy similar anime, so it’s worth a shot. I actually watched it because we own it (which makes it portable), because I wanted to watch anime, and because it is one of three series I own but have never completed (that I intend to complete anyway). I am completely neutral to this series otherwise.

Favorite Character

I really don’t know. This is another series where in five episodes I don’t feel like I’ve really met anyone yet, so I’ll just wait until I do. At this point honestly the bad guy… Kougaiji seems the most interesting.

Overall Opinion

What they did well: It has an interesting enough concept. The characters might be interesting. The villains – specifically Kougaiji – don’t seem to all be black and white. That is to say, I feel that they are doing what they are doing for a reason other than destruction of the world and aren’t necessarily pure evil. I like dynamic villains.

What they didn’t do well: The fight scenes in this are terrible. This is another series where all the action happens in flashes and bad cg effects so that even someone like me, who knows little about combat and doesn’t really care, feels a little disappointed. There seems to be some kind of religious higherarchy involving thtree floating heads and someone that seems to be named The Merciful Goddess, but that hitgherarchy isn’t explained so that it seems confusing. This might have to do with the whole story being based on the Chinese legend and (I believe) Buddhism. I know knothing about Journey to the West and while I did learn about Buddhism at some point I don’t think I ever really grasped it, so maybe the problem here is me, but at the same time, I probably represent your average anime viewer.

I reserve judgement on this one. I still feel completely neutral. I don’t dislike it at all but I don’t really like it either. I just lack any feeling at all.

Next Official Review: Guin Saga.

3 Comments

Filed under Anime, Weekly Reviews

3 responses to “Siayuki

  1. Bakagaijin_Izzy

    Yeah… I remember sticking with the anime b/c I had read the manga 1st and I was bored so I had gotten through enough of both of them that I was in love with it ^_^ But it is rather slow moving and being a history nerd diffenently helps ;p If it helps I had to drag a certain someone through it before she liked it too >D ok, so b/c you brought it up… Wandering Son

Leave a Reply

