Kenichi The Mightiest Disciple

Quick & Dirty

Language: Japanese

Initial Interest: Low

Favorite Character:

Opinion:

Synopsis

Shirahama Kenichi is an average student who has earned the nickname “Weak Legs” from always getting bullied. One day he meets a cute girl named Furinji Miu who helps him build the courage to begin training at a mysterious dojo where she lives. Here Kenichi faces intense training from masters of many different martial arts styles as he attempts to become stronger.

(Source: AnimeNewsNetwork)

Pre-Viewing Thoughts

This is another series that my husband saw a preview for and asked me to watch with him for the blog. Honestly I’m not crazy about the prospect. I’m not as interested in fighting and martial arts as Kaze is and I don’t think the artwork looks particularly impressive. I’ll give it a shot because he asked me to watch it with him, but I’m not holding out for it to be the best anime ever. I may like it, hard to say. I like a wide range of things and it wouldn’t be the first time I enjoyed a fighting anime that he picked out.

Favorite Character

I just… there are no words. They’re all so stupid I can’t decide.

Overall Opinion

What they did well: This series is hilarious in the most ridiculous way possible. Every single character redefines stupid with every scene and somehow manages to amuse all the same. It was also pretty fun seeing how Kenichi improved. They honestly do make him struggle for each increase in ability with intensive training that Kaze tells me is fairly accurate. Lastly it’s kind of nice to see a girl character who can kick just about everyone else’s ass. I’m not really into feminism in any real sort of way, but occasionally it’s nice to see a girl who doesn’t scream whenever bad things happen.

What they didn’t do well: Every character redefines stupid with every scene, and I’m not joking. Also Kenichi keeps driving me nuts with his attitude. He is progressively getting stronger and at a rate his peers cannot fathom but he still shakes like a scared rabbit and whines about being too weak with each fight. I understand feeling he may not be able to win, but you’d think at some point he would just suck it up and say ‘Then I’ll train more’ rather than ‘Oh noes the pain’. Then there’s the fanservice. Miu has boobs of phenomenal proportions and they feel the need to fling them around pretty regularly… I’m not completely opposed to well placed fanservice, but the people who made this show wouldn’t know subtle placement if it kicked their ass as severely as Miu herself could.

Overall I’ll recommend this one with qualifiers. If you like comedy, take even a mild interest in martial arts, and don’t mind gratuitous fanservice then give this one a shot because it’ll probably make you laugh. If comedy or fanservice are a real turnoff for you then steer clear of this one, you’ll hate it.

Next Official Review: You tell me.

1 Comment

Filed under Anime, Weekly Reviews

One response to “Kenichi The Mightiest Disciple

  1. Anonymous

    kenichi is a action pack perverted show with big boobs and butt

Leave a Reply

