Pandora Hearts

 

Quick & Dirty

Language: Japanese

Initial Interest: High

Favorite Character:

Opinion: Interesting

 

 

Synopsis

Oz Bezarius, heir to one of the duke houses, has just turned fifteen. His life is rich and carefree, darkened only by the constant absence of his father. At his coming-of-age ceremony, however, everything changes. For no reason that he can discern, he’s cast into the prison known as the “Abyss”, only to be saved by a “chain” known as Alice, the bloodstained black rabbit. It is unknown why was he cast into Abyss, how does Alice factor into it all, and what does the organization known as “Pandora” want with him.

(Source: AnimeNewsNetwork)

 

Pre-Viewing Thoughts

I don’t remember when I first ran across Pandora Hearts, I think it was when I was idly looking around for manga I might enjoy. At any rate when I did run into it I thought it sounded pretty interesting and I considered at various points reading the manga or watching the anime. I still haven’t done either so it seems like it’s about time. Also the artwork reminds me of something that I can’t quite put my finger on… it’s bugging me.

 

Favorite Character

I was totally going to say Gilbert on this one but…well he’s not technically a character. He has a name but it doesn’t seem likely he’ll ever come back again so… I guess he can’t be my favorite. I’m not even sure why exactly I liked him, I just did. After that I just don’t know who to choose. I like the other characters just fine, but I’m not more attached to one over another. It’s a neutral kind of feeling.

Overall Opinion

Interestingly, this is the first series where I thought that doing an episode by episode review might be fun. Most shows just don’t have enough content in each episode the triggers a real response, this one had a lot of that in the first 4 episodes.

What they did well: The story is fascinating. The characters are complicated. I’m not sure if I’m supposed to trust Break or not, he could be a good guy still, or he could just be a different kind of bad guy. This series also seems pretty good with atmosphere. It’s a series with a bit of a dark streak and they seem to keep pretty true to that feeling.

What they didn’t do well: I feel like several of the characters are a little all over the place personality-wise. Oz is a brat…wait no, a smart friendly kid…always hungry…insightfull…. Alice is evil…no, good…misunderstood…good but with a vicious personality…no she’s actually really caring… wait, is she blushing? Raven is the tall quiet…no wait he’s just like Alice…what is Alice like again? It started getting obnoxious when some of the characters switched back and forth. Also I feel like there’s a large amount of predictability in this show. I could be wrong, so far we’ve gotten around to confirming or denying only one of my predictions. I’ll set them forth right now and we’ll see if I’m right when I finish the series. The prediction I got right was spotting who was the Chain/Contractor in episode 5, if you watch this and can’t guess I think you must be new to this anime thing. I also predict that the Shinigami that Oz tried to kill in episode 2 and that Gilbert cried “No wait he’s…” is going to be Oz’s dad. I also predict that Alice was an illegal contractor at some point who became a Chain and lost her memories when her clock ran out. I’m still waffling on what Oz’s connection and cliché will be but give me a few episodes…right now my best guess is reincarnated or he is/contains one of Alice’s memories…the reincarnated doesn’t feel quite right though so we’ll see.

 

Overall I’m curious to see where this series goes. It’s carrying my interest on plot alone and I want to know how it ends. I’ll be disappointed if Oz gets sucked into the Abyss at the end…but I’m not really getting that vibe from this series so far. I’d give it a shot if you haven’t and I particularly need to mention it to my good friend Stuperface…he’d really like the Chains I think.

 

Next Official Review: Kenichi the Mightiest Disciple

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Anime, Weekly Reviews

Leave a Reply

