Kimi Ni Todoke

 

Quick & Dirty

Language: Japanese

Initial Interest: High

Favorite Character: How can I choose?

Opinion: Shoujo goodness

Likely to Finish: Given time

 

 

Synopsis

Kuronuma Sawako is nicknamed Sadako due to her resemblance to the girl from the Japanese horror movies “The Ring”. Shunned by her classmates, her life starts to change after she befriends Shōta Kazehaya, a very popular boy in her class. (Source: AnimeNewsNetwork)

 

Pre-Viewing Thoughts

So before it died in a spectacular fireball, I was a subscriber to Shoujo Beat. Kimi No Todoke was a one chapter preview in one issue, but it caught my attention. I read all of what was then online and eventually will buy the manga. So it’s safe to say that I like this series so far as I know it. So when I heard there was an anime, I thought I’d check it out.

 

Favorite Character

I really have no idea who to pick as a favorite character. This time it has more to do with my absolute adoration of every character they’ve introduced. I really don’t know what to say about it other than I love the entire cast. Sawako is adorably shy and clueless, Kazehara is sweet and maybe a little bit shy himself, the two friends are adorable in a weird kind of way, and I love the quiet and perceptive Ryu – even if he’s hardly done anything yet.

 

Overall Opinion

What they did well: This series seems to be pure shoujo, so as someone who really enjoys shoujo most of the time, I think they’ve done an excellent job in that respect. The characters are good, and believable for the most part. I’ll admit that the complete ostracism that Sawako is subject to at the beginning of this series seems a little farfetched, but not beyond suspension of disbelief…and who knows, things may be different enough in Japan that it isn’t really beyond the realm of possibility. I also really like the animation style for this anime. To some extent it’s not really that fantastic, it isn’t polished to a ridiculous shine like a lot of anime is these days, nor is it dark and gritty like most of the rest of it is…but for the story being presented I feel it is the exact style that works. I also really like the voices they chose for the characters. A lot of them surprised me at first, they weren’t what I expected after reading the manga, but after the initial shock of them I felt that they were somehow right all the same.

What they didn’t do well: This series is pure shoujo, so if you don’t like shoujo there isn’t anything here for you. For some, Sawako’s isolation might be a little bit too extreme to be believed. The animation is kind of awkward. As I said above, I think it fits well with the story, but I know that a lot of people will judge a series by its art, and this series might not stand up to that kind of standard.

 

Overall I think I love this series, but I’ll only recommend it to those who enjoy a good romance.

 

Next Official Review: You tell me.

 

4 Comments

Filed under Anime, Weekly Reviews

4 responses to “Kimi Ni Todoke

  1. so hey buchou-sama… if you haven’t sat down to finish this one yet, poke me when you do, mm’kay? this sounds freakin’ adorable ^_^

    • Well I have and haven’t finished this one. I watched all of season one but they’re still airing season 2 so I didn’t start it yet. It is freakin’ adorable though. Pure shoujo fluff.

  2. is it me or is there a CSS error? anyways well done article

Leave a Reply

